Ballet Week with Roni Mahler

It was such a treat to meet Roni Mahler, a beautiful ballerina, who hosted our classes for Ballet Week at the Ranch.  Roni has been coming to Rancho La Puerta every year for the last 20 years to teach ballet to our guests.  She was a principal dancer for the American Ballet Theatre and the National Ballet of Washington, D.C.  Roni is currently the Artistic Associate of Ballet San Jose and is a permanent member of the dance faculty at the Julliard School.

Listening to Roni speak about ballet is an absolute delight.  In her talk, The Ballet World, she showed photos of her in the 1960s as the principal dancer in such performances as Gisele and Coppelia.  She even showed us footage of her in the Dying Swan as the swan herself.

Later on, I took two ballet classes with her, Body Contour Ballet and The Joy of Ballet.  Now, I used to take ballet when I was a little girl, so I thought, this would be easy!  Nope!  However, I absolutely loved the classes (even though I’m not flexible at all).  Roni was so inspiring.  She is in incredible shape for her age and is limber as ever.  It really showed that you don’t need to let age define you.  Really, it was this class and my lack of flexibility that has inspired me to get on track to truly getting in shape.

The hardest part about the class to me were the moves on the ballet bar.  First of all, I had to stand on pads to even stretch my leg up to the bar.  It wasn’t that big of a deal because 90% of the class had to do this.  Second was just being able to keep my leg up on the bar and straight while we stretched from side to side.  I loved it even though it was hard because it also helped my posture as well (which definitely needed the help!).  Just watching Roni’s grace and posture as she danced I felt also taught me tremendously.  Overall, it was a great learning experience and surprise.  I wasn’t expecting to learn so much about myself in the classes.  I’m also so glad I was able to go to the second class because I received one on one help from Roni.

Really, ballet reminds me in a many ways of yoga.  Both have structured moves, focus on posture and flexibility.  I think a combination of these two activities would do wonders for anyone looking to get in shape.  Personally, I’ve looked into adult ballet classes here in San Diego after enjoying Roni’s class so much!

You can learn more about Roni at her site ronimahler.com.

5 thoughts on “Ballet Week with Roni Mahler

  1. Greetings from Dalry, Great Britain.Does your blog get many
    spam comments? I’m a blogger too and I’m wondering how
    many people have the same difficulty. A group of us has used the time to create some strategies and we’d like to trade ideas with fellow bloggers. If you’d be interested, kindly drop
    me a line via email.

  2. this is roni mahler … hoping to get in touch with Kate Anas to thank her for the lovely article. kate, if you every get to read this, where on earth did you get the album cover … and thank you for using it!!!!

  3. It’s a relief that I managed to come across wordpress.com: it has the info I was definitely searching for. You’ve created an
    outstanding resource and it’s obvious you have a detailed understanding of the issue. You have opened up my mind to numerous ideas involving this type of topic applying remarkable and strong material.

  4. Hey there, I found your site wordpress.com while browsing http://rancholapuerta.
    wordpress.com/2012/08/08/ballet-week-with-roni-mahler/.
    Have you ever considered including a bit more than simply text
    in your posts? I mean, what you say is beneficial and all that.

    Nevertheless just think if you were to add some nice visuals
    or videos to give your posts just a little more
    “pop”. Your page content is superior, but if you apply more different media,
    your blog could definitely be popular in its subject in comparison
    to other sites on .

Leave a Reply

